I Don’t Want To Protect My Daughter. I Want To Prepare Her.

I couldn’t have written this better myself.

Thought Catalog

shutterstock_143450008

I, like most parents, have this vague philosophy by which I’m attempting to raise the product of my uterus. Currently, it amounts to something like this: I don’t want to merely protect my daughter from the world; I want to prepare her for it. I don’t want to fence her in with electrified barbed wire and white pickets made to look like ‘love’, I want to expose her to the world she was brought into, the one she’s going to have to find her way through on her own someday. You know, with a yard that isn’t fenced in and windows we crack open at night in the summer, or some other equally obscure metaphor.

A few years back I made a ‘play date’ (man, that term always brings home ‘white-middleclass’ in the worst possible way… /cringe) with a co-worker. I had been putting off this little adventure for quite…

View original post 1,145 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Don’t Want To Protect My Daughter. I Want To Prepare Her.

  1. AthenaC says:

    “I don’t want to merely protect my daughter from the world; I want to prepare her for it.”

    Yep – that pretty much sums up my parenting philosophy. Particularly because I was one of those kids who was “protected” rather than “prepared” and the results were …. less than stellar at first. So it’s frustrating when my well-meaning conservative friends continue to spend all their efforts protecting their children (rather than preparing them) and of course they won’t listen to any sense

    Like

Leave a Reply

